Water to the Soul

24 Aug

I have not felt this free in weeks

It has taken me that long

To realize that I cannot let go of this one thing

To write is to think

I have been thirsty for days

Dying

Inside my body, I only feel the ache of a weakness

And I tried

Told my self I was not good enough to do this

Told my self I had no voice

And then in the midst of thirst

Insanity set in

And through it came my need

I broke down

The pen and paper came to me as if by magic

And in that way I could not stop

Hours went by

When I finally looked at a clock

My heart stopped

This is beauty

This is life

The ability of curiosity

Which some of us shut out–

Make it a thing unknown except in child hood memories but I have decided memory

Is no longer sufficient

I have decided that it is time

To brake the rules

Make a few mistakes and maybe through them something good will come

They tell me this is no way to live a life

They say that this is a long road of sorrow

But how am I suppose to cope

With out the pen

All these thoughts they jumble in my head

They squeeze together

Until I can’t live in there any longer

Finally the breath comes

The sip of water I had been restraining against

And I am completely again

I am human

Ugly and beautiful

Animal and spirit

And all of this makes me

Half lunatic

And half something else

Something I cannot define

Not yet not now.

Don’t ever hold it back

even if it seems like crap

Do not hold back

6 Responses to “Water to the Soul”

  1. liliessparrowsandgrass August 25, 2012 at 4:04 am #

    Thank you for sharing this great advice!

    • cookie200007 August 25, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

      Thankyou so much for reading!:) I am so happy you liked this piece:)

  2. Lindy Lee August 25, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    WordPress is a good place to be for writing the way you think. This reader likes this,
    your “Water to the Soul”. Thanks for all the likes to my humble efforts at poetry…

    • cookie200007 August 25, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

      Thankyou so much for reading πŸ™‚ And I found so much truth in your work, it was captivating, and I could not stop reading, I can’t wait to read more!

  3. greekgirl777 August 26, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    Amen!!!!!

Leave a Reply

