A Concept Called Time

4 Jul

 

“The future is just a fucking concept that we use to avoid living today.”

 

What is time anyway? A measurement of change? Sure, we can get scientific, but to the human being time is something else entirely. We created this concept called the future, and most of the time we just use it so we can avoid the truth, living in the present. And as the great writers of Six Feet Under said it, “The future is just a fucking concept that we use to avoid living today.”

          Wow. First, these writers string these words together so delicately and perfectly, in such a way that I am left thinking: how did I not come up with that? Or at least, it is a truth that we know, yet we do not know how to out these truth’s into words.

          That is when I realized that this is what writers do; they use their words in order to tell the truth in a way that has never been said before. In a way that will astound us, shock us, make us see the world in a new way. To me, that my friend is the sign of a great writer.

          But back to the real subject, which is time. Our concepts of time. The past, present and future. In the waking state, I mostly ruminate over the past, fantasize about the future, and usually worry over it.

          It is the present that we live. Our dominion, our reality our path to success or destruction is all about what we do now. The more I accept this truth the more I utilize it. The more I stop worrying about what could have been what might be and instead concentrate on what is in front of me.

          It is not a sin to plan for the future; it is not bad to hope for the best, to dream of exciting events. What is destructive is whining over the possible fears that might become a reality.

          What is the point of wasting our precious present with the occupation of unhealthy thoughts? None. No point.     

          So here is my question—what do you spend every moment, every day thinking about—the past the present, the future? Does it matter at all—as long as it is positive? We cannot ignore the lessons the past teaches us as individuals, but we also cannot live in it forever. Or do we live in it already? Are the writers of Six Feet Under correct, or is this an extreme concept of time?

          Time is the spoon,

          Life is held in it,

          At some point,

            It will…spill.

2 Responses to “A Concept Called Time”

  1. Invisible Mikey July 6, 2012 at 1:22 am #

    Since I am not a particularly disciplined thinker, I enjoyed reading this. Personally, the only time my thoughts remain on topic is when I’m engaged in tasks, like performing patient exams. Otherwise, the cerebrummobile drifts like a leaf on the eternal river of time.

    • cookie200007 July 6, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

      Much Thanks Mikey, I am completley delighted that you liked this 🙂 And of course I feel that for most of us we are concentrated when doing tasks which need our attention the most, it is hard controlling our own thoughts and barely noticing the time that passes. But I believe meditation can help 🙂

Leave a Reply

