Jump

30 Jun

I wanted to rush into the water

I wanted to jump in and swim away,

But I stood there, above the edge, close enough to feel the chill,

Fear crept around the edges of my skin,

My mind wasn’t ready for this,

So weak

So fucking weak.

 

I wanted to jump in, I really did

But wanting was not enough

I had to do it

And stop thinking so much

Thinking too much always killed what I could do

 

I am stronger only when I take a jump.

When I take a chance.

 

Everyday jumping farther into the cold,

And once the initial shock has faded,

The chill no longer bothers me,

I become the water

My body and mind mix with it

Making me a better

More powerful person,

Who knows when to jump,

And forgets little fears.

6 Responses to “Jump”

  1. unfetteredbs July 1, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    great expression here.. love the water metaphor and jumping.

    • cookie200007 July 1, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

      much thanks my friend so happy you enjoyed this means alot 🙂

  2. satprem33 July 2, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    As a former cliff diver in Hawaii, I really Get this, both physically and spiritually~ Beautifully penned~ Thank you~ 🙂

    • cookie200007 July 2, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

      Wow! Amazing! I am absolutley delighted that this connected with your beautiful experience 🙂

  3. johndwm July 2, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    i feel it too being there and pushing further into the cold. I have slep out on lochs and in woodland copses and felt the serenity of the harsh awakening. Thanks for your poem!

    • cookie200007 July 3, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

      Ah so beautiful johnwm 🙂 Thankyou love your work!

Leave a Reply

