The Bottle

27 Jun

The blonde woman with the red dress looked at me across the table in the overly filled restaurant she was smiling at me, and I did not know why.

“You will get better” she exclaimed with a wave of her hand summoning the waiter

“Yeah and how do you know?” I asked

“I just know”

“Is this a dream?” not wanting to know the answer, not really.

“Everything is a dream” laughing a bit, she was twirling one of her locks in her hair as the waiter made his way over. I turned my face away from him once I realized who he was.

“Aw don’t be like that!” the blonde-haired woman told me. It was easy for her she was beautiful. She could have anyone that she wanted.

“I don’t want to be here. I want to go back.”
“Go back where? To your bed? To home?”

“Yes!” I felt sweat dripping down my face, the room had grown hotter. The people around us were talking louder, getting closer. The tables were started to clunk together. All the round tables, with their silk coverings and delicate glass plates and cups. Clanking together making awful sounds. The sound of doom.

“Your going to have to face It.” she said to me then turned her attention to the waiter. “Death, we would like a bottle of the best.”

The waiter did not say anything.

She was pouring something into the wine glasses. The waiter had left; I just knew the presence that was prickling at my side no longer existed.

“You shouldn’t be so scared.”

“I can’t help it, I’m only human!” I yelled.

“Here drink this.” she handed me a wine glass. I looked down at the drink. It was no wine I knew that, a dark black liquid showed my eyes at the surface. Eyes, which I did not know, eyes that glowed yellow. I knocked the glass over. It burned the table, burned through it, creating an awful crooked hole.

I looked up at the woman, her wonderful featured were twisted in anger.

“No one has ever done that, no one has ever dared!”

“So what are you going to do?” Somehow, I had gained courage. What could she do to me anyway this was a dream.

“Nothing, it’s what you do.”

The occupants of the restaurant were all over me hovering around the hole, around me.

“Drink, drink, drink, drink, drink!” the voices were getting louder, urgent,  hissing at me. Listen to them, do their bidding? If I did not I was sure they would hurt me.

“Please…” I said looking up towards the woman. But the space she had inhabited was empty. I was all alone.

I turned and the people were no longer crowded around me. In fact, the whole room was empty.

I felt the waiter come back, felt deaths prickly presence walking over.

“Oh no, oh no” I whispered to myself, turning in the seat. Something heavy was placed before me. I turned around and death was not there anymore but a bottle was. A wine bottle with the black liquid.

Red letters were inscribed on the bottle:

Just do it

So I took the bottle to my lips, no cork to block my way. I looked around one last time. No audience, no one to tell me what to do. I was finally completely alone.

I tipped the heavy, cool glass up to my lips…and drank.

2 Responses to “The Bottle”

  1. happinessisnotadisease June 28, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    Lovely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

