Woodland Monster Dreams

24 Jun

I was stuck in the dream for what felt like days

No movements from the body which I inhabited

And I suspected it was the body of a rock

Cold, and smooth, muddy with the earth and all her blessed gifts

The soil gave me hope

And strength

Beyond the vision of the tree’s I saw the monster running

It was a strange and horrible monster

It grew each step it took closer and closer to me

It’s long arms were the color of blood its

Face had no eyes only a long wide mouth and two jagged front teeth

Stained with black and red, those teeth told me the story I didn’t want to hear

But had to see

The monster grabbed me

Grabbed my wonderful smooth surface

It’s hands were grimy, and coarse

An uncomfortable feeling, a violation—

I was meant to stay in the earth, I was meant to bathe in the sun, and sleep under the moon.

But the monster took me and hurled me into the wood. I was flying through the air

Flying like a decrepit bird

And finally I hit the fire

The fire which roasted me into smithereens

And then all I was

All I turned into was dust

Scattered into the woods

I became the tree’s

The grass, flowers and wood.

And it wasn’t too bad.

The Monster had long since left.

But there were other things in these woods creeping and crawling

Killing, violating all forms of my world, all forms of me

Because I was the world

I was all parts of it.

And then the dream ended.

I was in a bed

Human again,

But not really,

Not in my mind.

4 Responses to “Woodland Monster Dreams”

  1. Rev Dani Lynn June 25, 2012 at 3:20 am #

    I don’t know what may have inspired you or scared you to write this, but I loved it. Thanks for sharing.

    • cookie200007 June 25, 2012 at 5:51 am #

      Thankyou so much you are so kind I am so grateful and happy you enjoyed this–It as my fear and from it I drew out inspiration–a fun cocktail 🙂

  2. christopherzxcolew September 18, 2012 at 2:25 am #

    Reblogged this on Christopher Cole Pages.

    • cookie200007 July 31, 2013 at 5:36 am #

      Hey Chris!! Thank you so much for re blogging!!

Leave a Reply

