The Graves

10 Jun

 

I took this picture five years ago :

,

Before College.

Before a grave yard represented something else entirely to me,

I have not visited that place in a year

my heart says go….

my brain says you’ll cry.

I don’t like shedding tears,

makes me feel weak

but maybe if I go alone,

maybe if no one see’s me—

I can have one moment

…… just one moment of weakness.

6 Responses to “The Graves”

  1. unfetteredbs June 10, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    don’t like shedding tears,

    makes me feel weak

    thank you for sharing this… i feel the same way. Go and cry for both of us

    • cookie200007 June 11, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

      thankyou so much for the support—It’s not easy, but it was worth it I hope for you to feel the same it made me feel…stronger and understanding

  2. Kristin Barton Cuthriell June 10, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

    Go and cry, it will be good for you. Challenge the belief that crying makes you weak. Crying can be healing and make you stronger.

    • cookie200007 June 11, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

      So smart thankyou, I didn’t realize it would make me stronger, your words are a blessing thankyou.

  3. Worldly Winds June 11, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    I agree with Kristen!!
    Don’t confuse grief or compassion with weakness. I would say it takes a truly strong person to allow the emotions out rather than bottling them up and pretending they aren’t there – beautiful verse 🙂

    • cookie200007 June 11, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

      I completely agree there is a certain unhealthy quality about keeping our emotions inside for too long–thankyou so much for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

